You are here


Board of Directors

The Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority is a quasi-public agency created by the Rhode Island General Assembly to maintain and operate the Claiborne Pell Bridge connecting the towns of Newport and Jamestown, the Jamestown Verrazano connecting the towns of Jamestown and North Kingstown, the Mount Hope Bridge connecting the towns of Portsmouth and Bristol, and the Sakonnet River Bridge connecting the towns of Portsmouth and Tiverton Rhode Island.

The Authority is a body corporate and politic of the State with powers to construct, acquire, maintain, and operate bridge projects as defined by the law. The Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority is a component unit of the State of Rhode Island and the Governor appoints Authority members for a four (4) year term.



Stephen C. Waluk, Chairman

Mr. Waluk, a Newport native, was first appointed to the Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority's board in 2005, assuming the role of Chairman in 2014. He is employed as the Administrator of the Rhode Island District Court. Having been elected to the Newport City Council in 2001 when, at age 24, he became the youngest person ever to serve on the Council. He was sworn in as Mayor of Newport in January 2007 when he became the youngest Mayor in Newport's history at the age of 29.

A 1999 graduate of Merrimack College, he attends St. Augustin’s Church and is a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians and Newport Knights of Columbus. In addition to serving on the RITBA Board, Mr. Waluk also serves on the Board of Directors of the Newport Public Library and is a past board member of the Fort Adams Foundation, East Bay Habitat for Humanity, Newport Lions Club, Edward King House Senior Center and the Newport Zoning Board of Review. 

Mr. Waluk was appointed to the RITBA Board by Gov. Donald Carcieri, and his present term expires on April 1, 2021.


Judith M. Morse, Vice Chairwoman

A life time Rhode Island resident, Judith is currently an Assistant Professor in Providence College’s School of Business.  She has degrees in both accounting and taxation and her business experience includes public accounting, not-for-profit, manufacturing, and banking.  She has served on a variety of boards with previous State board experience as the Treasurer of the Depositors Economic Protection Corporation.    She is a member of the Rhode Island Society of Certified Public Accountants and the Rhode Island Association of Accounting Professors.


Mrs. Morse was appointed to the RITBA Board by Governor Raimondo and her present term expires on April 1, 2023.



Peter Alviti, Jr. P.E., Ex Officio


Peter Alviti, Jr. joined RIDOT as its Director-Designee in 2015, serving as chief steward of the state's $400 million surface transportation program.

Director Alviti brings an extensive background in engineering and public works administration to RIDOT. He most recently served as Director of Programs for the Laborers International Union of North America - New England Laborers' Health and Safety Fund. Previously, Alviti worked as Director of Public Works for the City of Cranston. While there, he was the lead negotiator on a 25-year Wastewater Facilities Privatization Lease and Service Agreement that saved taxpayers $35 million and provided long-term fee stabilization.

Read More

His career history includes experience in civil and environmental engineering, and as principal owner of Hudson Place Associates of Warwick, which performed engineering services for various residential, commercial, industrial and municipal projects in Rhode Island and Massachusetts.

Director Alviti is a registered professional engineer in both Rhode Island and Massachusetts. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Construction Technology from Roger Williams University and a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Northeastern University.

As RIDOT Director, he serves as chairman of the Rhode Island Public Rail Corporation and a board member of the Rhode Island Public Transit Authority, the State Planning Council, the State Traffic Commission, and the Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority. Additionally, he is a member of the Executive Committee for the Northeast Corridor Commission (NEC).



R. David Cruise


Mr. Cruise was appointed to the RITBA Board by Governor Raimondo  and his present term expires on April 1, 2023.


 Darrell Waldron

Mr. Waldron's present term expires on April 1, 2023.



RITBA Administration



Buddy Croft, Executive Director



 Maggie Baker, Chief Financial Officer


 Eric Offenberg, P.E. AP Director of Engineering

 Kathi O'Connor

Kathryn G. O’Connor, Director of Tolling and Operations